1946 was the year in which Ankara, realized one of its dreams. Faculties established by the great efforts of the Republic of Turkey would bring under one roof. On 13th of June in 1946, Ankara University was formally founded on the basis of Mustafa Kemal Atatürk’s (the founder of the Republic of Turkey) doctrine and revolutions in order to strengthen and spread these principles to a wide area with the modern society, science and enlightenment.

Ankara University was not only the first higher education institution founded in the Turkish Republic and the capital city of Ankara, it is also the oldest, and the largest university in Ankara and one of the best-established university in Turkey, as well. The university has the prospect to be one of the leading universities in the world. The university is diversified and versatile with its well-developed 19 faculties, 14 Graduate schools, 11 Vocational Schools, 1 State Conservatory, 43 Research and Application Centers, 1 College of Foreign Languages with about 4.000 teaching staff and 70.000 students. It continues to provide education in 15 large campuses located in Ankara Vocational schools are mainly located in the surrounding 7 districts: Ayaş, Beypazarı, Elmadağ, Haymana, Kalecik, Kızılcahamam, Nallıhan, Districts. Ankara University has 36 campuses in total.